A Flight Above The Rest

Language Arts Department

 

Language Arts classes focus on improving  and enhancing skills in reading, writing, speaking, listening, research, and reasoning. 

Every student will complete four credits of Language Arts in order to meet graduation requirements. In order to do so, students should plan accordingly from the following choices:
 
Traditional pathway includes: English 9, English 10, English 11, and English 12
·         We also offer support for English Language Learners through Sheltered English and ELD English at every level
·         If a student needs additional support, we offer a writing lab to help improve writing skills in 9th grade
 
Advanced courses include: MYP-9, MYP-10, (Middle Years Programme) IB-11, and IB-12  (International Baccalaureate Programme)
 
In addition, seniors can select to take Humanities and/or English Composition in lieu of English 12 for concurrent enrollment (and receive both high school credit from Hinkley High School and college credit from the Community College of Aurora).
 
Language Arts Instructors

TeacherEmailVoicemailSyllabi
Kyle Mont Blackpmontblanc@aurorak12.org303-340-1500English 9, ELD English 9
Tegan Madson Dion - Department ChairTSMADSONDION@aurorak12.org303-326-2858Honors English 9, ELD English 9
Taylor Haddentahadden@aurorak12.org303-340-1500English 9, Honors English 9
Nick Buckwellngbuckwell@aurorak12.org303-340-1500English 9, Honors English 9
Sam Forrestersdforrester@aurorak12.org303-340-1500English 10, Honors English 10
Karon Dodgekldodge@aurorak12.org303-340-1500 Honors English 10, ELD English 10
Sybil Owens seowens@aurorak12.org303-326-3290English 10 , ELD English 10
Doug Nogami - Department Chairdsnogami@aurorak12.org303-326-4349IB English 11, ELD English 11
Alex Gibbsalgibbs@aurorak12.org303-340-1500English 11, Honors English 11
Tracey Waltztmwaltz@aurorak12.org303-340-1500English 11, ELD English 11
Tara Farrtafarr@aurorak12.org303-326-4014English 12, ELD English 12
Brent Wescottbawescott@aurorak12.org303-326-3494English 12, Honors English 12, IB English 12
Barry McDermott - CCA Adjunct Professorbgmcdermott@aurorak12.org303-326-2548English 092, 094, 121, 122, Humanities 122 & 123
David Nickoloffdtnickoloff@aurorak12.org303-326-4215Theory of Knowledge (TOK),
MYP English 10