A Flight Above The Rest

Science Department

 

The WORLD CLASS Hinkley Science Department is dedicated to ensuring that students learn to think critically and solve problems. We use inquiry-based, hands-on curriculum to ensure that students use their brains to connect in-class learning to real-life experiences. All of our freshmen take Physics to create a solid foundation in fundamental, observable science as well as build mathematical reasoning, computation, and graphing skills. Sophomores take Chemistry, where they learn about the world that is too small to see and make connections between macroscopic and nanoscopic properties of materials as well as using symbols to represent scientific phenomena. Finally, in their Junior and Senior years, our students make the choice between Biology, the study of life, IB Biology or IB Chemistry, or Senior Physics. Graduating seniors are able to explain and represent the world around them in a variety of ways, ask good questions, and design inquiries to answer questions of their own.

 

In addition, our department sponsors the IB LIGHTS Health Sciences Academy, wherein students take classes in the biomedical sciences as an early preparation for a future career in health professions. Our LIGHTS kids also get to participate in extracurricular activities and field trips to explore their future options.

Science Instructors

 

TeacherEmailVoicemailSyllabus
Dina Abu-Hilalddabu-hilal@aps.k12.co.us303-326-3576IB Chemistry SL,
MYP Chemistry
Tim BillmanTEBILLMAN@aps.k12.co.us303-326-2318Chemistry, Sheltered Chemistry
Shannon BoutwellSCBOUTWELL@aps.k12.co.us303-326-
Sunshine Duexsaduex@aps.k12.co.us303-326-3350
Lee Gillilandltgilliland@aps.k12.co.us303-326-3242IB Biology SL1, IB Biology HL2
Sean HaggertySWHAGGERTY@aps.k12.co.us303-326-4623Sheltered Physics, Physics 9
Adam HengenAJHENGEN@aps.k12.co.us303-326-
Sarah Lebsack - Department Chairsalebsack@aps.k12.co.us303-326-4529MYP Chemistry
Emma McCourtEJMCCOURT@aps.k12.co.us303-326-3272Biology, Physics 2
John Miller -
Asst. Dept. Chair
jjmiller@aps.k12.co.us303-326-3540Physics 9, MYP Physics 9
Susan Mumford-Hartleysemumford-hartley@aps.k12.co.us303-326-4863Human Body,
Medical Interventions,
Sheltered Biology
Elena Oserowemoserow@aps.k12.co.us303-326-4581Principles of Bio Med, Chemistry
Jason ReimerJRREIMER@aps.k12.co.us303-326-
Jennifer Van Gundyjlvangundy@aps.k12.co.us303-326-4445MYP Physics, Biomedical Interventions
Amy Voamloewen@aps.k12.co.us303-326-3256IB Biology HL1, IB Biology SL2