A Flight Above The Rest

Language Arts Department

 

Language Arts classes focus on improving  and enhancing skills in reading, writing, speaking, listening, research, and reasoning. 

Every student will complete four credits of Language Arts in order to meet graduation requirements. In order to do so, students should plan accordingly from the following choices:
 
Traditional pathway includes: English 9, English 10, English 11, and English 12
·         We also offer support for English Language Learners through Sheltered English and ELD English at every level
·         If a student needs additional support, we offer a writing lab to help improve writing skills in 9th grade
 
Advanced courses include: MYP-9, MYP-10, (Middle Years Programme) IB-11, and IB-12  (International Baccalaureate Programme)
 
In addition, seniors can select to take Humanities and/or English Composition in lieu of English 12 for concurrent enrollment (and receive both high school credit from Hinkley High School and college credit from the Community College of Aurora).
 
Language Arts Instructors

TeacherEmailVoicemailSyllabi
Kyle Mont Blac303-326-2000English 9, ELD English 9
Tegan Madson DionTSMADSONDION@aps.k12.co.us.us303-326-2858English 9, MYP Honors English 9
Katherine Griggskagriggs@aps.k12.co.us303-326-2000 Ext. 62418English 9, MYP Honors English 9
Taylor Hadden303-326-2000English 9, MYP Honors English 9
Sam Forrestersdforrester@aps.k12.co.us303-326-2000English 10 and MYP Honors English 10
Karon Dodge303-326-2000English 10, MYP Honors English 10
Sybil Owens seowens@aps.k12.co.us303-326-3290ELD English 10, Intervention English 10
Kendall Phillips303-326-2000English 11, Honors English 11, Intervention English 11
Tracey Waltz303-326-2000English 11, ELD English 11
Tara Harristaharris@aps.k12.co.us303-326-4014ELD English 12, Honors English 12, English 12
Barry McDermottbgmcdermott@aps.k12.co.us303-326-2548English 12, Humanities, College Reading & Composition
Brent Wescottbawescott@aps.k12.co.us303-326-3494English 12, IB English 12
Doug Nogamidsnogami@aps.k12.co.us303-326-4349English 12, IB English 12
David Nickoloffdtnickoloff@aps.k12.co.us303-326-4215Theory of Knowledge (TOK),
MYP English 10